Ethics committee

University of Granada | Vice-Rector's Office for Scientific Policy and Research | e- administration


Ethics committee

Descargar versión en PDF

Good Practice Code

Ethics Committee

In order to ensure compliance with the legislation on ethical principles to be respected in research, and wishing to clarify the different assumptions and regulations for the general knowledge of their researchers, the University of Granada establishes a Commission on Ethics in Research. This Commission structures, reports and monitors the compliance of the ethical standards in scientific research, according to the legislation of the European Community, the Spanish State and the decree of control and monitoring, from which the Autonomous Community is responsible of.


Once the members of the Commission and the three Committees have been appointed, they will have a period of three months to draw up internal rules, designing protocols ( summary and full ) and set the periodicity of meeting. The members of the different Committees will belong to it for a maximum of four years. The renewal of the Committees will be made every two years, affecting 50 % of its composition, so that their work is not affected by this process. The proper functioning of Commission and Committees will allow researchers from the University of Granada, conducting their research in a manner consistent with the ethical principles of consensus for the scientific community, within the law.


The Research Ethics Committee consists of :

The Ethics Committee on Human Research (CEIH) is constituted by a President, the Dean of the Faculty of Medicine , a secretary, the Secretary of the Faculty of Medicine and seven members appointed by the Rector, seeking to include experts in research in basic or clinical biomedicine, pharmacology , Psychology , Social Sciences, Law Sciences, Education and Humanities.

The Ethics Committee on Experimenting Animal (CEEA) is constituted by a President, the Deputy Director of Centre for Scientific Instrumentation, a secretary, the Head of the Animal Production and Experimentation Service (SPEA), and eight members, including staff and technical specialists of the SPEA specialized in animal experiments in the fields of Life Sciences, Pharmacy , Psychology and Medicine, all appointed by the Rector.

The Ethics Committee on Modified Organisms and Biological Agents Research (CIOMAB) is constituted by a President , the Director of the Occupational Health and Safety , a secretary, the Head of department of Industrial Hygiene and five other members appointed by the Rector, seeking to include specialists in Molecular Biology and Genetics , Microbiology and Parasitology and Public Health.